Iguazu Falls 

Las Cataratas de Iguazú. I thought it was just going to be a Little river with a waterfall. I could not be more wrong.

Iguazu falls are massive! There are over 175 falls in the national park but this number varies depending on the amount of water. The Iguazu river runs through Brazil and then meets up with the Paraná river before toppling over the Paraná plateau. The Iguazu falls divides Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay, so you can actually see the falls from all countries.

The Brazilian side has more of a panoramic view of the falls. You look at them from afar but you can really see the grand size of the falls and how big the river is. The Argentina side was definitely my favourite. You get to be way more up close and personal with the falls. The metal boardwalks (recently rebuilt after the river flooded and destroyed everything) allows you to walk on top of the water just before the edge of the drop. On the Argentina side you do 10km of walking on the different trails to see different falls. The best part is when you get to go over Devil’s Throat (the main and biggest 800m drop of water). One minute on that boardwalk and you’re absolutely drentched. The mist the falls produce is so large that you actually can’t see very far into the distance. The waterfalls produce and monstrous noise and lots of rainbows, which made me really happy.

I didn’t go to the Paraguay side as I’ve been told by my family that it’s not really worth it. For the three nights, I stayed on the Argentina side in Puerto de Iguazu, the local town. I found Puerto de Iguazu to be very safe compared to the other Argentinian cities I’ve been to. The only problem I had was with the heat. I can do heat. I’m a raised Aussie for crying out loud. But every day it was over 35°C with a high level of humidity and I absolutely died. You would step outside and the sweat would just drip off you. It was like you had a mini waterfall from your armpits. Mosquitoes were also prevalent, but I didn’t have a problem with these as they were the normal kind and not the ones that draw blood that I encountered in Machu Picchu.

Lonely planet voted the Iguazu falls as one of the 10 must see places of the world. I could not agree more. It’s really nothing you can imagine. You really have to go and check it out for yourself.

– Nadia

One thought on “Iguazu Falls 

Leave A Reply

